Zyring Day 16 – Carousel Fail

[Note: These are more in-depth (read: tedious) write-ups of my experience with each section of the Zyring project, leading on from my intro post on Zyring. This is mostly for my own benefit but could conceivably be of use to someone doing the project.]

Display information about a single apartment on a page

Thought this would be straightforward, but I ended up having a fairly frustrating day of getting things wrong. Annoying when I seem to be so close to the end…

I decided I wanted a layout like this (written on a blank page of a ‘Libraries for the Future’ consultation booklet because I didn’t bring any paper with me):

Layout for my apartment page

Layout for my apartment page

Fairly basic, just a title, a big carousel of images, and a couple of lists of information.

First I was confused for quite a while about why no apartment images were being displayed. I thought that for some reason get wasn’t fetching them, and spent a long time mucking about with callbacks (on the plus side, they started making a lot more sense). Then I realised that the problem was simply that there aren’t any images on the server for most apartments, just an empty array. So I decided to start off just getting the view for the example data to work properly, and then think about what to do for the pages without images later.

For the carousel I tried to use the Angular Bootstrap library. My blog came in handy there: I knew I’d used it before but couldn’t remember what for, so the relevant post was useful. I managed to include a carousel, but the arrows weren’t working properly. I think it probably has something to do with this problem, but by now I’m happy to give this a rest for a while.

Leave a Reply

