Zyring Day 5 – the backend server

[Note: These are more in-depth (read: tedious) write-ups of my experience with each section of the Zyring project, leading on from my intro post on Zyring. This is mostly for my own benefit but could conceivably be of use to someone doing the project.]

Get to know your backend server

This tutorial is more just a ‘read-and-understand’ job, which was a nice change of pace after yesterday. I’m introduced to the apartment data I’ll be using, which is in a JSON file hosted on the backend server and has the obvious stuff like price, location, photo and description.

I also read a bit of stuff about the HTTP protocol.

Creating an Angular Factory

In this tutorial I started on the ‘M’ bit of MVC, making a new directory to put our model code in. This will be the bit of the code that connects to the backend. Inside this directory I put a javascript file containing something called a factory, which is some Angular jargon I currently know nothing about. As I don’t really know what this is yet, I didn’t know what to call the file, so currently it’s rename_me_later.js. Then I stuck in an empty factory() method.

I’m hoping that this all makes more sense when used in context later, as with the ‘Communicating with Controllers’ tutorial which was also a bit abstract.

Leave a Reply

